Idera Geek Sync—Dealing with Bad Roommates SQL Server Resource Governor

Next Monday at 1000 CDT/1100 EDT/1500 GMT I will be doing a webinar with Idera on SQL Server Resource Governor. In my time as a SQL Server DBA, it’s rare especially in small to medium size companies to have only one applications databases running on a given SQL Server. SQL Server licensing is expensive—frequently far more expensive than the cost of server hardware, so workloads get combined. It is not uncommon to see an application like SharePoint running on the same server that hosts a data warehouse. Since these applications have really diverse requirements for their system configurations, this can lead to performance problems and arguments between application teams. So what is an overworked DBA to do? Starting with SQL Server 2008 Microsoft introduced the resource governor a feature that let you control CPU and memory for a given workload—this was great for controlling applications like SharePoint that don’t want parallelism, but what about that report that your sales manager runs that overwhelms the storage array with its 15 million reads? Well there’s an answer for that too—in SQL 2014 Microsoft introduced an IO feature for resource governor.

In this one hour webinar, you will learn about:

  • Why you want to use resource governor
  • How resource governor works inside of SQL Server
  • How to implement resource governor in your environment
  • Why Microsoft will continue to enhance resource governor

I really like this feature and feel that it is underutilized—please join me next Monday. You can register here.

%d bloggers like this: